Help for Instructors > Course Tools > Messages

Audience: Instructors

Messages

Messages are private and secure text-based communication that occurs within a course and among course members. Although similar to email, you must be logged in to the course to read and send messages. Using the Messages tool instead of the Email tool can also be more reliable. Problems with incorrect or out-of-date student email addresses do not affect course communication.

Students are not notified if they receive a new message, so advise them to make routine checks for new messages. Both incoming and outgoing messages are saved in the Messages tool.

Messages are organized in folders, marked as Read or Unread, moved to other folders, or deleted. The Messages area has two folders, Inbox and Sent which you cannot rename or delete.

Note:  The Blackboard administrator can choose to allow or not allow users to create personal folders. By default, users may not create personal folders.

Related Tutorials    Sending Blackboard Messages video (pop-up). Click to toggle glossary term definition: <begin definition>   (Flash movie <end definition>. | 1m 37s )